ELBOW TANKARD

The final of this year's competition was played at Leicester Electricity on Monday night.

As last year, the finalists (Abbots All Stars and The 3 Musketeers) had qualified for the knockout stages from the same group, Group B.

That meant they had already played twice in the group stages (with slightly different personnel the home team won on each occasion).

A close encounter looked likely and that was how it proved.

Andy Searle and Gitesh Parbhoo (the latter winning a deuce game) shared the first two games. George McClurkin beat Bhulesh Rathod 2-0 to put The 3 Musketeers 3-1 up. Geoff Hancock then beat John Underwood 2-0 to level things at 3-3.

The next 4 matches (including both doubles and with Gitesh winning another deuce game) were then all shared to leave the score at 7-7.

Gitesh beat John 2-0 to put AAS 9-7 up but Andy beat Bhulesh by the same score to tie things up again at 9-9.

And so to the final match, with George giving away a start of 7 to Geoff. In both games Geoff started relatively slowly, George caught up at around the 13 points mark, but then Geoff pulled away to win making the final score 11-9 to AAS.

AAS: Gitesh 4/6, Geoff 5/6, Bhulesh 0/4; 2/4 doubles 3M: Andy 4/6, George 3/6, John 0/4; 2/4 doubles

And so our 2024 champions are Abbots All Stars: congratulations to them. Congratulations also to The 3 Musketeers for getting all the way to the final again.

And a couple of thank yous from me:

-to all who entered the competition this time (especially Leics Tennis & Squash); and -to Leicester Electricity for the use (and preparation: thanks Dave/Mat!) of the premises for the final

Until next year's competition...

Peter